Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The adventures of Kari & Kev
30 mai 2008

The first few weeks : RAIN!!!!! May 23th- May30th

My first couple of days in Savigliano were quite depressing. Leaving my home, my family and my friends to move into a tiny town in Italy sounded at first exotic and fun but the first few days were the complete opposite!!! I arrived on a wednesday morning, Kev picked me up from Torino airport and we drove 1h to Savigliano. It had been raining for the past week and it kept on raining the entire week!!! I moved into our studio apartment. Other than being quite small, it was nicely furnished but there was no tv, no internet and the washing machine was tiny!! During the day while Kev was working, i got familiar with my new surrounding. Everything is closed between 12h30 and 15h30. Even though opening hours are posted, they are not always respected and don’t expect to get anything on Sundays and Mondays. The other unexpected habit is that i have to go to the fruit and veg shop, then to the butcher, if we want fish, to the fish shop etc. Going to the butcher was an experience of its own. You don't just pick the piece you want, but you have to specify which part and how you want it cut. I don't even know these details in english nor in french, how am i suppose to know them in italian!!! The first time i just walked in and right out the shop! The second time i specified what i wanted to cook and they prepared the meet for me!! Once you know how it is done, it is quite simple. You just have to make sure people understand what you are saying!! After touring the town in the rain i realized there was no internet café!! How depressing, no way to contact the outside world!!! To actually get the net at the apartment, we need a ''codici fiscale' equivalent to our social insurance number in canada and of course since Kev still didn't have his visa, we can't get one!! My first few days were spent: 1.washing clothes since you can only wash 5 things at a time and it takes over an 1h to wash. 2. cooking and grocery shopping 3. cleaning 4. reading on the bed 5. sleeping 6. Getting soaked when i would go out Just imagining my life being like this for the next year was extremely depressing!!!! Then i was introduced to the MARKET!!! Wow, it made my day! Every tuesday and friday mornings from early morning till 12 noon there are fruit and vegetable vendors at one piazza, meat, fish and cheese vendors on the neighboring piazza and on the largest piazza you can find everything else from clothing to gardening. It is quite fascinating how many people are present at these markets!! DO ANYONE WORK!! From then on it became a ritual. Now that hunting for my food was no longer a problem, i had to attack my second issue, find a doctor as soon as possible! On the following tuesday of my arrival (because everything is closed on mondays!!) i went to the hospital to ask questions. Well, as most hospitals, i got redirected to another office across town. To get any public medical assistance, i needed a 'codici fiscale' and my visa that i did not have!!! So, i asked about the private medical system. A whole bunch of women got together and made me a list of the most recommended gynecologist in Savigliano! I took the list and went searching for the offices. Like usual it started to rain and therefore i picked the closest one. It was doc. Bricchi's office. He wasn't there but his secretary scheduled me for an appointment the next day! The doctor was great!! I got another ultrasound with a video tape, he got me an appointment at the hospital in case my diabetic test turned out positive and he scheduled me for my next appointment. After meeting him i was quite relieved!! He also told me to go by the end of this week to the hospital to do blood tests. On thursday i went to the hospital for the tests but they only did them in the morning so i returned the following day. It was a long procedure, 4 blood samples had to be taken and i had to wait 1 hour between each sample!!! (diabetes test). After finding a doctor i decided i desperately needed internet. I discussed my problem with both internet vendors, vodahone and tim. They both confirmed i could get internet without signing a contract but i had to buy the 200euro usb card and buy an internet access card that is good for 1 month. Great!! the monthly card was cheaper at Tim's but they no longer hand usb cards in stock!!! In a few days they were coming in!! Why not wait a little longer! Everything was falling into place. Friday we packed all our stuff, the following tuesday we were moving to a larger flat!! youpi!! That weekend we took off to Cinque Terre.
Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
T
I really like your modern fashionable ideas which you have shared about designing.. This blog provide exceptional and exact information for which I was searching..
T
I really like your modern fashionable ideas which you have shared about designing.. This blog provide exceptional and exact information for which I was searching..
The adventures of Kari & Kev
Publicité
Archives
Albums Photos
Derniers commentaires
Publicité