Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
The adventures of Kari & Kev
19 juin 2008

June 2nd - June 19th Simple Life In Savi

June 3rd! We were moving to our new apartment!! Kevin went to work and i searched the markets for the essentials needed in the new apartment. Instead of resting like i hoped to do since my entire body was aching from the walk, I spent the day walking either from the market and back to the new apartment or back and forth between both apartments moving the lighter objects. I left the luggage for Kevin to move. Kev and Nico (his co-worker) moved the rest of the stuff late that night!! From the start the apartment felt great, lots of light, lots of room and a much larger washing machine!!! Everything is in place, i’m ready to start classifying all my traveling pictures and putting my travel Journal on computer. Hopefully i will finish before the little one is born!! I also have to figure out how this mac works and install everything i want on it!! For that i need internet!! During the week i found the local pool which is amazing!! There are umbrellas and long chairs surrounding the outside pool. There is also an indoor pool! I payed for 12 entries. I try to go twice a week. On the hot days i feel like i am in a resort, i read my book go swimming for an hour, it feels great. It is the only thing that can cool us down during the excruciating hot hours of the afternoon. Finally having sunshine meant i can do some laundry!! I have to say hanging your clothes on a line is a simple concept but many unpredictable thing can happen. I almost smacked someone on the head with one of the pins that i dropped. I also saw one of my towels fly onto the neighbor’s balcony beneath mine!! After searching for the word towel in the dictionary i got the courage to go knock on the neighbor’s door. No answer!! 2 Days in a row there were no answer. Finally when i had given up on my towel, i found it in the main corridor!!! By the end of the week after going everyday to the internet shop, the guy felt sorry for me and finally decided to allow me to sign a contract!! Why couldn’t we do this initially, i don’t know!!! This way we don’t have to buy the 200 euro usb key, it is included in the contract. Finally that weekend we were connected!!! I have to say the connection sucks!! If we try to load pages that have lots of images or if we talk to someone, we get disconnected!! Oh well at least i can read articles, do some research and plan our weekend trips touring italy!! Both following weekends were quite relaxing. We finally visited the museums in Savigliano,we went to Saluzzo, a nice small medieval town and Torino. We found the best gelata in torino!! Even on a rainy day there was a 15 min line up!! We visited the Egyptian museum which was quite interesting. It is apparently the 2nd largest museum with Egyptian relics. The first is in Cairo. Most people we talk to say that torino is not a nice city. I found the center great!!! Like most cities in italy there are lots of roads reserved for pedestrians. The architecture in the center is beautiful. Of course the rest of the city is very industrialized but it has its charm. Other than me having la Bella Vita, Kevin works long days in a non air conditioned office!!! I honestly don’t know how he does it. I can barely stand the heat in the apartment and apparently the office is much warmer!!! We are also waiting impatiently for our visa, especially his working visa!! If we don’t get it by July 10th, i will be coming back to montreal and he will stay till the end of his current visa, beginning of august!! Now now, if we come back, where will we live and for how long will we stay!!! Hopefully questions we will have an accurate answer before i give birth!! If not, it just makes life more exiting. :)
Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
The adventures of Kari & Kev
Publicité
Archives
Albums Photos
Derniers commentaires
Publicité